Research into Ping Pong

For my final project I will be creating a ping pong (game) using the application ‘Unity’, it will not be simple nor hard. I chose this game because I enjoy playing this game myself and think that other people would also enjoy a computer based version. I have also been inspired by the game ‘pong’, as it is simple and effective. The concept will be a 2D retro table tennis game played on a PC. The game will be for 2 people, as I want people to interact and play together rather than playing on their own which I will be explaining why it is great for people to play together rather on their own.

(history of the game): “This game was founded in 29 November 1972 and was developed by one of the top rising developers in today’s industry, Atari and was created by Allan Alcorn”. (En.wikipedia.org, 2019) The genre of the game is an arcade game. Since the historic games has been released it made an impact on the social side of these games. Back then people would be lining up to play these games with one another and sharing laughter and having fun with each other but now people is hardly with each other, they are on their screen talking to each other which shares a different effect when playing games as it make you more anti-social “and be less active in the outside realms as video games tend to make you addicted” (En.wikipedia.org, 2019) and the behavior would be more aggressive whilst if you was at an arcade you would be outside and interact with many people and your behavior would not change as you be focused on winning the game but you be sharing the fun with your friends. I have visited ‘Hollywood Bowl’ in Ashford and it shared the same effect as arcades as this place include the coin machine, basketball machine, claw crane and many more although this is different and have been adapted to this current generation by including a pool table too and a car machine and bowling alley. There is no ping pong game but there is something like that which gave me an inspirational idea which is a air hockey table, it holds the same goals and same instruction. “Arcades between the years of 1970 and 1980 has made an impact based upon the flashing lights and blaring arcades sounds“. (AudioMelody, 2019) The arcades during these years made an impact as it contained gaming machines like Pacman, Space Invaders and more. “In the early 1980s, the beginning of the gaming industries started to rise upon the earnings, the popularity it is creating and the start of an innovation.“(En.wikipedia.org, 2019) As the years go by, the amount of arcades has been ascending and now currently in the year 2019, they have created games based upon the inspiration of the original games.

Magnavox Odyssey

The game engine that I am going to use is going to be Unity, I have chose this as I find it very helpful and it is not simple nor complicated, as long as you understand it. There are other game engines such as Frostbite, Game maker studio but these game engine would be able to create the game I would like to produce but it would not make it how I would not want it to be made.

This is a video of me playing a game of ping pong, whilst I was playing I was really enjoying the social aspects as I was having fun, sharing laughter, communicating whereas if I was playing this on a video game at home it would not be the same. I also enjoyed playing it realistically which gave me more inspiration to how I would like my game to be on my unity game. The ping pong table is blue but I would maybe try have a unique table for my unity game to bring more attention and enjoyment.

There are many video games similar to ping pong such as ‘kinect sports’ which was created in 2010, this game is an exceptional way to play ping pong as it is an an active game that sense your movements, it will make you feel like you are in the game and your mistake on the game is based on the mistakes upon your movements. Another game that is similar to kinect sports is ‘Eleven: Table Tennis VR’ which will make you look like you are actually in the game and the controller/remote in your hand seems like the paddle. Each games seems to have different colour ping pong table, which I would like to use for inspiration as I would not want my table to be boring and bland but not too extravagant too. I have researched a few colours used for the tables (see below):

I have got the inspiration to use blue on my ping pong table as I feel the mood would be a chill vibe hence to what I would like the game to be like. I also looked online about the colour blue and this is what is said: ” Because blue is favored by so many people, it is often viewed as a non-threatening color that can seem conservative and traditional. Blue calls to mind feelings of calmness or serenity. It is often described as peaceful, tranquil, secure, and orderly. Blue is often seen as a sign of stability and reliability. ” (Verywell Mind, 2019)

So, as you can see from the quote above, blue will be good for a calm and chilled feel.

Leave a comment